Everything You Need To Know About The AAF

Everything You Need To Know About The AAF

By James Jackson

February 6, 2019

The Alliance of American Football, or the AAF for short, is a newly formed football league kicking off Saturday February 9, 2019. It will see eight teams compete in a ten game season to fight for the right to call themselves the first champion of the AAF.

Co-founded by Charlie Ebersol and long time NFL executive, Bill Polian. Both Ebersol and Polian are joined by Pittsburgh Steelers legends Hines Ward (Executive of Player Relations) and Troy Polamalu (Head of Player Relations). The league was created to give NFL fans something to watch during the offseason, as well as put the spotlight on local, developing talent.

For Hines Ward, the top priority for him is player safety.

"Player safety, that's top priority. I mean, that's something we want to bring to our league,"  Ward said. "Not only just help them while they're playing but also helping them when their careers are over. I mean we're — off the field we're setting up scholarships for players and also having some financial internships and really get them financial counseling."

So who are the eight teams suiting up for the inaugural season?

  • Arizona Hotshots
  • Atlanta Legends
  • Birmingham Iron
  • Memphis Express
  • Orlando Apollos
  • Salt Lake Stallions
  • San Antonio Commanders
  • San Diego Fleet

With those eight teams getting ready for kickoff, there have been some big name signings from former NFL  players.

Former Heisman Trophy candidate Trent Richardson is returning to Alabama to play for the Birmingham Iron, Trevor Knight is the quarterback for the Arizona Hotshots and former Pittsburgh Steeler, Zach Mettenberger is one of the quarterbacks for the Memphis Express.

Kickoff is Saturday February 9, 2019 on CBS. The Atlanta Legends travel to Orlando to take on the Apollos. The San Antonio Commanders welcome the San Diego Fleet, both games start at 8PM EST (7PM Local Time for Commanders game)