Newgarden Wins NTT IndyCar Season Opener

Newgarden Wins NTT IndyCar Series Season Opener 

By Chris Cole

March 10, 2019

As the checkered flag was waved in the first race of the NTT IndyCar Series season, Josef Newgarden found himself in victory lane. Newgarden held a commanding lead for much of the race over defending series champion Scott Dixon, who finished second. Newgarden led a total of 60 laps enroute to his first win since Road America last June.

New drivers, Felix Rosenqvist (4th) and Santino Ferrucci (9th) both had impressive starts while fellow newcomer Magnus Ericsson had to retire early in the race for a 20th place finish.  Neither Rosenqvist nor Ferrucci’s drives would compare to domince displayed by Newgarden however.

The rest of the race had its fair share of cautions which resulted in 11 cars on the lead lap when the race completed, with six retirements. One of the incidents on track saw the Ed Carpenter Racing No. 20 entry driven by Ed Jones plow the wall hard. It was announced that Jones had suffered a fracture in his left ring finger. Will Power, who started on pole, finished in third while IndyCar rookie Felix Rosenqvist finished fourth.  

Newgarden’s win was the 204th for Roger Penske and Team Penske, and 9th at St. Petersburg. With the first race of the 2019 season out of the way, the NTT IndyCar Series looks ahead to Austin, Texas for the inaugural race at Circuit of the Americas on March 24th.